“Grappling Hook” Pre-Alpha or whatever

In the past week I haven’t been working on the Umbrella game. Mainly because I’m not sure which direction to go in. I feel like I should make some levels, but I don’t know how to approach it. Tiles aren’t really up my alley, but it seems to be the best approach. Sooner or later I’ll probably have to get into making tilesets anyways. Perhaps I’ll get Pyxel Edit soon.

Meanwhile…

ninja

I’ve been working on another idea I had: A game that features a grappling hook. Now this is no Umihara Kawase, but I must say that I’m a bit proud about the code I wrote for the hook. It’s nothing special really, but I came up with it on my own.

It’s in rough stages, but I made some placeholder sprites to get a feel for the size of the character, and the way she would move.

Some things that need to be done next:

  • Make the hook travel instead of instantly attaching
  • Tune character size / speed / hook length and so on
  • Think about a way to attack and enemies
  • Make some proper animations

Leave a comment