Update Week 15

Long time no see! Weekly, bi-weekly, what does it matter?

I’ve decided to take the jump and switch over to Game Maker Studio 2. The reason being that sooner or later, I’d do it anyways and so why wait?

I could import the old game into the new version run it without much trouble. Studio 2 creates a couple of compatibility functions. But the whole resource tree is a mess, and there are a lot of opportunities to improve on the stuff I wrote in GMS 1.4, now that I again learned a little bit more.

I also made an improved attack animation. It actually took the longest time to do the blade flash of the actual slash. Not because it took long to draw, but because I couldn’t decide on how to visualize where the attack hits while still making it look decent. So I tried a ton of different ways until I settled for this one which most clearly displays the time and area when the attack actually hits.

ground_attack_ver_2

This is also the first time I drew the sprite in its original size from the beginning (not counting the one attempt I made in Pyxel Edit some time ago). It’s nice to be able to see from the beginning how it’ll look in the game, and I hope to be able to make more consistent sprites in the future. (And filling in colors is also a lot quicker. 🙂

Leave a comment